Where's the Library?

Libraries are not just a place or a thing. Libraries are evolving!

Break time is over!!

Posted by Librarian/Information Professional on May 22, 2011

Hi everyone–I decided to re-awaken my blog. I have been enjoying too much of a respite since I finished “library school.”
I have some thoughts that have been smoldering about libraries, processes, technology & more. So I think it’s time!!

I have been on vacation and tomorrow is back to work again. The Spring semester is over and Graduation is finished. My assistant is off due to surgery and I am not sure if I will have a student helper when I get back. (It was up in the air last week–student was trying for a better paying job! Can’t say that I blame her, but we do have some unofficial perks that the “private sector” does not, like understanding when there are exams to be taken or that a visit home is past due.)
Why am I writing about all this? Because it is a good time to review procedures and to identify what needs to be done and how it should be done. One of those steps we forget about as we slog along every day and don’t consider there might be better, or more efficient ways to accomplish our tasks. Also, maybe some of the tasks we are doing, don’t need to be done. Hmmmm….

I think more of the work flow can be accomplished by student workers and I intend to point more of the work their direction. We have bright students and they are capable of doing more than we sometimes expect them to do. So, tomorrow, I intend to begin rewriting the procedures!

Leave a Reply

 
