Where's the Library?

Libraries are not just a place or a thing. Libraries are evolving!

Participatory Digital Libraries

Posted by Librarian/Information Professional on September 8, 2008

While I struggle in my attempts decide how to create a digital collection for LIS5990, I rediscover information overload. There is so much information out there on the Internet, why oh why should we even attempt to add to it or make sense of it? Is a digital library the same as a digital collection? Is a repository a collection, or is a group of Web links a collection?

In retrospect, I have seen projects by librarians that claim to be bibliographies or collections or portals. Most of the time I have been disappointed. Either they were not “as advertised” or else they were simply a giant collection of links with no real focus. All too often there seemed to be a hodgepodge of links that might be found Web surfing.

I don’t think that is what is anticipated here for my Digital Libraries class. Yet I am puzzled what directions I need to go. I do know that all collections need a plan. In my collection development class, we learned that all collections should be developed according to the policy of the library. Additionally, collections should reflect the needs of the users of the collection.

As I struggle with this process, I found some articles and sites to explore. I searched Web and LORA for information to try to establish my direction for digital collecting. In the process, I discovered Peter Murry’s article that may be helpful, Creating Participatory Digital Libraries. This entry is based on a talk by Paul Jones, Director of Ibiblio.org. In this entry, there are some interesting digital collections to explore. This gives more insight as to what online collections should be.

One Response to “Participatory Digital Libraries”

  1. Speaking of information overload, you might be interested in a recent presentation by Clay Shirky on the need for better “information filters.”

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

